In Cameroon, the local currency is the Central African CFA franc. It is the currency of six (6) independent Central African States: Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea and Gabon. Its exchange rate with other currencies is based on a fixed exchange rate between these currencies and the Euro on foreign exchange markets. The exchange rate of the CFA franc against the Euro has been relatively stable for several years. The BEAC CFA franc is pegged to the Euro at 1 Euro = 655.957 CFA and to the US Dollar at 1 CFA = 0.0019 USD. In Yaoundé, there are several exchange bureaux and banks where you can exchange your euros and US dollars. Debit cards are generally accepted, especially in the major cities where you will easily find ATMs.